It’s Been a Long Time…

Hello everyone…

I just pulled up Itsaweirdweirdworld for the first time in ages and was stunned to see that it’s been almost exactly six months since my last post. That’s far too bloody long, but there have been extenuating circumstances. I never meant for my silence to continue for so long, and I apologize to those of you who follow my blog and have been wondering just what the hell happened to me.

For starters, I’ve had a lot of personal issues get in the way of my writing. Now everyone has issues, I know that, and there are a lot of people who have bigger and worse issues than mine, but it’s mine that I have to live with and try to cope with so forgive me if I sound like I’m whining – I’m not. Having a mental illness like I do is never a bunch of fun and games, and when it gets out of control it can be very destructive to one’s personal life. Mine has been rather out of control the last few months, and the problems it caused became all-consuming. Basically while I was chasing shadows and often my own tail I did not allow myself the time to write, and I hate that. Now the issues are still there and still raging to a large degree, but I have been working on getting them back under some semblance of control and my efforts must be paying off since here I am writing once again.

Second, I have been having difficulties in deciding what content to write about for this blog, which has been an ongoing problem practically since day one. When I first started itsaweirdweirdworld I had certain ideas in mind of what to write about. There were such subjects as history not being the way we were taught in school, tales from the ancient world and the fact that the ancients weren’t as ignorant as modern man likes to think, exploring the idea that we are not alone in the universe, prophecies…the list goes on and on. All of these subjects are things that interest me greatly and judging from the feedback I’ve received when I have written or commented on them they are subjects which a lot of you find interesting as well. Yet still I have struggled with getting them written. I think that part of it is that so many of these subjects have been written about by people a lot smarter than me and more diligent in their research that I have had the unshakeable feeling of “who am I to try to sound like an expert”. It’s probably nothing more than my own insecurities, but that feeling has been a major stumbling block to me.

I have also been torn over what to write because I’ve felt that a lot of the subjects that fit my original concept for this blog aren’t all that important when compared to other things and when considering the state of the world at large. I have stated before that I am fascinated with prophecy and I have written about some of the prophecies concerning the end of the present age. The bottom line is that I am convinced that we are very close to the end of the age, certainly within just a few years, and that belief has also hindered me in that I have felt like there are more important things to write about than ancient history and strange phenomena. I guess you could say that my mental triage got clogged and wasn’t allowing anything through, and as a result I have wasted six months without writing about anything, important or otherwise. So I need to unclog the pipes and allow things to flow once more.

Those of you who know me and are counted as my friends, as well as those of you who have been following this blog and reading my posts, know that I am a Christian. I may be unorthodox in many of my practices and viewpoints, but my faith in God and Christ remains strong and I hope and pray that it always will. This simple fact of my faith can also dictate what I will or will not write about, and for that I will make no apology. There are things that need to be said and they need to be said through the filter of my faith, and those things will not always mesh with my original concept for this blog. So be it. I can still write about some of the subjects that interest me, but when I feel that there is something faith-related that needs to be said I will say it. I really can’t do otherwise. To those of you who aren’t interested in such matters I ask your indulgence and patience, and I ask that you keep an open mind. I have no intentions of turning this blog into a pulpit to preach from (again, there are a lot of people out there who already do that far better than I ever could) but there will be times when I will write about my faith and how it has shaped my world view, and again I will not apologize for that. Just bear with me, okay?

With all of this said, I intend on getting back into the swing of things with this blog and make myself be more diligent in writing on here. The content may vary, but each post will be what I have been led to write at that particular time. Sometimes the post will fit in with what I originally envisioned for itsaweirdweirdworld and sometimes it will not. There will undoubtably even be times like this when my post will be more personal reflection and “musing out loud” than anything else. But the bottom line is that the posts will come as I am led to write them. I will leave it to you to judge which posts are worth your time and which are not, but I do hope that you will give them all the benefit of the doubt. Sometimes I really do have something important to say and I’d hate for you to miss those occasions.

So I am back and hopefully I will be back to stay. Thank you for your patience and loyalty, and thank you for your understanding. Ole Dave is alive if not necessarily well and I’ll try hard not to leave you hanging any more. Keep your eyes and ears open and receptive to the truth as you go about your daily lives. Take nothing for granted, especially the truth, and as the apostle Paul once said, “test everything”. That applies to this blog as well.

Peace and blessings to you all, my friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dave's Little Quirks

Leave a Reply

