Goodbye to 2013

As I sit here sleepless at 3:30 in the morning on New Year’s Day I’ve been reflecting back on the year that just ended and decided to put my thoughts in print. So as you read this keep in mind that I am sleep deprived right now, and as always , consider the source.

2013 was a weird year for me personally. It started out hopeful in a number of ways but as the year progressed those hopes crumbled for one reason or another. A dear friend that I was very close to drifted away for reasons unstated, which was a major disappointment. Hopes for improving my overall health and fitness faded into just trying to maintain what I already have. Hopes and dreams, and heavy emphasis on dreams, were crushed when someone I really cared about turned away from me. My personal life deteriorated to the point where I was afraid that I would end up homeless on the streets, and I finally had to go in the hospital for a five-day re-tuning of my mental state. One of the biggest disappointments of the year was getting turned down yet again for my Social Security disability benefits, which has left me in financial limbo for what will probably be the next year and a half. So overall this past year wasn’t all that great, but it was still better than some years I’ve had in the past.

On the plus side of things, I have made a lot of really good online friends this past year, most of whom keep in touch with me on a fairly regular basis; that seems strange to me since I have drastically reduced the number of hours that I spend obsessing on Facebook. My personal situation has stabilized to the point where I am no longer in panicked flight mode, which is a good thing because when I get that way I always manage to make the wrong decisions. My interest in music is starting to come back after several months of non-existence, and while my guitars remain untouched I am at least listening to music again on occasion. I was given a Playstation 2 for Christmas so now I am getting back into gaming, a hobby that I always loved and a good harmless way to occupy the empty hours in my day. My attorney has expressed the opinion that I stand a good chance of getting my disability when I go before the judge, which should happen sometime in early 2015, so I am hesitantly hopeful regarding that. My mental state, while never what could be called good, has improved to the point where my issues are more manageable. And probably most importantly, I have been spending more time talking to God the past four months than I had in the first part of the year, and that is very important to me.

Looking at the world around me I see that things have really gone downhill and are continuing to do so. We have a Congress that is bitterly divided and completely ineffective. The Obama administration has been plagued by more scandals than any President’s that I can remember, and I believe we have only seen the tip of the iceberg in that regard. We have a closet Muslim President who always chooses to side with the Islamists and the terrorists of the Muslim Brotherhood. The homosexuals have managed to push their agenda to the point where same-sex marriage is becoming legal in most states, and now such perverts as pedophiles and the bestiality people are starting to claim that their deviance is just another sexual orientation and should be recognized as such. Obamacare’s highly touted roll out is a complete mess. And our economy is being held together with spit and baling wire and could come undone at any time. So 2013 was a year when America slipped ever further down the slippery slope, and if ever a nation was ripe for a dictator it is us.

So the bottom line is that in my book 2013 wasn’t that good of a year, and I’m afraid that 2014 doesn’t look like it will be much of an improvement. All I can do is hope, which is hard for me, and pray, which is getting easier every day. This new year could end up surprising me and turn out OK, but I don’t expect it to. Am I being gloomy about it? Probably, but I’m gloomy for very good reasons. I always try to hope for the best but expect the worst, and then when things turn out good I am pleasantly surprised.

So for 2014 I say “I hope it turns out to be a good year”, but I’m ready for it if it’s not. My prayer for each and every one of you is that this year goes well for you, in as many ways as possible. May you all have peace and joy in this year in spite of the challenges thrown in your path, and may you all come to a deeper knowledge and understanding of our Lord Jesus Christ. For ultimately our best hopes lie with Him.

As for 2013 I say “goodbye and good riddance”!

Peace and blessings to you all, my friends.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Dave's Little Quirks, In the News, Mental Illness, Politics...Ugh!

Leave a Reply

