Merry Christmas 2015

Well, well, well, look what the cat dragged back in…

It’s been a whole year and a half since my last post and a lot has happened, both to me personally and in the world at large. For those of my readers who have been following me this whole time, I apologize for the long hiatus in my writing and I thank you for your patience. For those of you who are reading this blog for the first time, please bear with me for a minute while I catch up…

In the world at large so much has been happening since I last wrote that I hardly know where to begin. Since my last post we’ve seen the rise of ISIS to global prominence as the world’s leading terror organization and have seen their influence extend well beyond the Middle East. ISIS-inspired terror attacks have been perpetrated by radicalized Muslims throughout the world, including America, and civilization as we know it in the West has been shaken to its very foundations. We’ve seen the Syrian civil war (as esteemed megalomaniac Axl Rose once sang, “what’s so civil about war anyway” – he may have borrowed that line from elsewhere) continue and now the U.S. and Russia have both been dragged into it on opposing sides, rather reminiscent of the proxy wars of the Cold War period. China has been aggressively claiming the entire South China Sea and its islands, which are also claimed by nations such as the Philippines and Vietnam, and the Red Chinese have been busily turning isolated reefs into small islands capable of supporting military operations. The Earth has inched ever closer to the spectre of World War III with the three major powers – America, Russia and China – all working against each other while the world looks on with held breath. Our world is rapidly sinking into chaos and madness and no one, especially Barack Hussein Obama, seems to know what to do about it or even acts like they care. If ever we were in the Last Days of this age it is now.

Personally, the last year and a half have seen me go through a lot of personal turmoil, which is primarily why this blog has been so silent. Many things have happened around me which has left me out of balance and scrambling for some sort of stability. I received yet another “no” from Social Security concerning my disability case, when sent me into a tailspin. I endured romantic disaster which left me despondent and deeply depressed; at one point my psychiatrist was even considering electroshock therapy as a way of pulling me out of it. And then things finally started turning around in June of this year when my eldest daughter got in touch with me, followed in short order by my eldest son, and the depression began to lift. I finally admitted to myself that I had an excellent romance with a sweet Christian lady who I had loved for over a year and began focusing my attentions on her. And most importantly, I finally got back on track spiritually by slowly becoming an active and committed follower of God through our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Life isn’t perfect – when is it ever – but it’s a lot better than it was in June of 2014 when I last wrote a post for this blog.

So I will once again become active in my writing after a long break. I will try to be diligent about writing on a regular basis but I make no promises until I get back in the habit of writing. I will alter the focus of this blog from politics and the esoteric to a more spiritual approach, which still leaves room for a lot of weirdness since reality is so very different from what most of us believe, even Christians. So please just bear with me while I get my writer’s feet back under me and get my happy butt back to work.

In the meantime let’s not forget the reason for the Christmas season, which is that roughly 2,000 years ago in Bethlehem the Savior of all humanity was born, Jesus Christ. The exact date is unimportant as are the traditions that have grown over the last 20 centuries and even the origins of the date of December 25th as the day when we celebrate the birth of the Messiah. What really matters is that the Son of God was born into this world to pay the price for all our sins and to be the sacrifice through which we might obtain Salvation. I will not make apologies if this belief offends anyone for God is greatly offended by our sins. Thankfully He is a merciful and loving God who cared enough to submit His only Son to the horrors of crucifixion and death.

So love each other this blessed Christmas season and try not to focus on the material aspect of the holiday. Instead focus on all those who love you, your friends, your family, and your loving Father in heaven.

Peace and blessings be with you all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dave's Little Quirks, Faith in the 21st Century, In the News, Mental Illness, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

